Algebraic Groups, Finite Groups, Geometries, Representations

50 years of Chevalley Seminar

CIRM, Luminy, France


22 September 2014 - 26 September 2014







Preliminary list of Speakers




Every algebraist acknowledges the fundamental contribution of the Chevalley Seminar of the years 1956-59 classifying reductive groups soon after Chevalley's paper giving a construction of finite simple groups of Lie type (Tohoku, 1955). This establishes a strong connexion between finite groups and algebraic groups. It will be completed with the theory of group schemes already sketched by Grothendieck in the same seminar, and on the other hand by the program of classification of finite simple groups. Chevalley himself chose this latter theme as the main subject when restarting his seminar at the end of the sixtees (Vincennes, Institut Henri Poincaré). The seminar has continued its activity after the death of Chevalley (1984) until today and one can now count fifty years of the seminar. See the current programme.

Chevalley's themes (reductive groups, reflection groups, flag varieties) are still central in algebra. New methods and notions, such as l-adic cohomology, derived module categories, or braid groups, all give new insights on the geometry and representations of finite groups, p-adic groups and associated algebras.

The so-called perverse equivalences took inspiration from works on representations of groups of Lie type and lead to new questions and conjectures on the homology of Deligne-Lusztig varieties.

Many conjectures of global-local type in the representation theory of finite groups (McKay, Alperin) have been recently reduced to related statements on finite quasi-simple groups. The classification of finite simple groups helps then reducing essentially to questions about Chevalley groups.

Langlands' program, starting with groups over local rings, also leads to questions about their finite analogues.

The conference organized in Luminy (Sep 22-26, 2014) will gather experts in the fields mentioned above, along with speakers, organizers and attendants of the Chevalley Seminar.






Organizers: Olivier Brunat, Marc Cabanes, Radha Kessar

Groupes Algébriques, Groupes finis, Géométries, Représentations

50 ans de séminaire Chevalley

CIRM, Luminy, France


22 Septembre 2014 - 26 Septembre 2014







Liste préliminaire d'orateurs




On connaît la contribution fondamentale du séminaire des années 1956-59 classifiant les groups réductifs, après l'article de Claude Chevalley donnant la construction des groupes finis simples de type de Lie (Tohoku, 1955). La connexion est dès lors établie entre groupes finis et groupes algébriques, elle sera complétée par la théorie des schémas en groupes que Grothendieck esquisse déjà dans le séminaire, et d'autre part par le programme de classification des groupes finis simples. Chevalley lui-même choisira cette seconde direction comme thème de départ lors de la reprise de son séminaire à la fin des années soixante (Vincennes, IHP). Le séminaire continue après la mort de Chevalley (1984) jusqu'à nos jours et aujourd'hui on peut compter à peu près 50 années d'activité. Voir le programme actuel.

Les thèmes abordés par Chevalley (groupes réductifs, groupes de réflexion, variétés de drapeaux) structurent encore une grande partie de la recherche en algèbre. S'y sont ajoutés des méthodes et des thématiques nouvelles, cohomologie l-adique, catégories dérivées des catégories de modules, groupes de tresses, donnant de nouveaux points de vue sur la géométrie et les représentations des groupes finis, p-adiques ou des algèbres associées.

Ainsi les équivalences de catégories dites perverses s'inspirent des travaux sur les représentations des groupes de type de Lie et débouchent sur de nouvelles questions et conjectures sur la cohomologie des variétés de Deligne-Lusztig.

Plusieurs conjectures global/local en théorie des groupes finis (McKay, Alperin) ont été récemment réduites à des énoncés voisins sur les groupes finis quasi-simples. La classification des groupes finis simples conduit là aussi à des questions concernant essentiellement les groupes de Chevalley.

Le programme de Langlands, qui concerne essentiellement les groupes p-adiques, conduit aussi à des questions sur leurs analogues finis. Cette rencontre se propose de réunir des experts des thèmes évoqués ci-dessus, ainsi que de nombreux orateurs, auditeurs et organisateurs, passés ou à venir... de ce séminaire.







Organizers: Olivier Brunat, Marc Cabanes, Radha Kessar